Village officials, stakeholders forge commitment to protect Davao City’s watershed

October 25th, 2011 by

DAVAO CITY, Oct. 17 – A total of 22 signatories representing barangays and key organizations, including the Davao City Water District (DCWD) and city government here, recently signed a commitment to protect the city’s watershed as part of the full implementation of the Watershed Code of Davao City.

Councilor Marissa Salvador-Abella, chairperson of the City Council committee on environment, said that of the 31 barangays covered in the Watershed Code of Davao City, 22 village chiefs from these areas were present during the pledge signing, along with various environmental groups and representative of the city’s executive and legislative departments.

Abella said since it has been officially mandated to all barangays, especially those covered by the code, it is now the right time to act collectively in saving the city’s water source.

The pledge states that they recognize the “importance and urgency of protecting, conserving and managing Davao City’s watersheds to ensure a balance ecology and sufficient water source for the Davaoenos present and future generations.”

Abella said watershed has been defined as areas of land on which rainwater drains from a river system to a common outlet such as a dam, lake or sea; or an area where rain water from a higher level of land flows down to a river or stream then to the Davao Gulf.

“We should monitor, prepare and submit monthly report of activities to the Watershed Management Council on activities relative to the compliance of the law. Starting next month until July next year, we should initiate delineation and ground marking areas covered by the code,” she said.

There are at least six watershed areas in the city. These are Sibulan River (Sirawan Area), Lipadas River, Talomo River, Tamugan River, Cugan River and Suawan River, she added. (PNA)